Arizona Rubber

Arizona’s and New Mexico’s Authoritative Voice of Ice and Inline Hockey

Category Archives: Inline

Pair of April IHAAZ events prepping teams for upcoming State Finals

May 4th, 2023

As was the case in March, with a multitude of teams looking to compete in the 2023 IHAAZ season, the association split its April tournaments into two weekend combo events. First, the season rolled on over the April 14-16 weekend in Queen Creek at the Barney Family Sports Complex for the fifth tournament of the…

WCRHL championships big on intrigue with nationals approaching

April 4th, 2023

Championship tournaments are always exciting and this year’s Western Collegiate Roller Hockey League (WCRHL) finals were especially so. The 10-team event, held March 4 at Corona Inline, determined championships in four divisions: Division I, Division II, Division III and Division AA. Intrigue was definitely apparent as the best-of-three Division I championship series went the full…

March IHAAZ events proving to add to competition with State Finals looming

March 26th, 2023

With so many teams looking to compete in the 2023 IHAAZ season, the association split its March and April events into two weekend combo events each month. In March, the season continued over the March 10-12 weekend in Peoria for the fourth tournament of the season and then March 12-19 in Queen Creek at the…

Eight teams bring home division titles from IHAAZ Yuma event in early February

February 23rd, 2023

The 2023 IHAAZ season continued over the Feb. 10-12 weekend in Yuma for the second tournament of the season. Eight champions were crowned at the Kennedy Memorial Park as the Yuma Blaze Black won at 8U, Arizona Jr. Wildcats won 10U Gold and Konixx Tritons 10U Silver, Jr. Wildcats Gold at 12U, TPH Knighthawks Green…

IHAAZ competition boosting talented players to WCRHL roller hockey game

February 22nd, 2023

Over the years, playing roller hockey for IHAAZ has proven to be a steppingstone for players to move on to college roller hockey in the NCRHA, specifically in the WCRHL. Those that have made the jump say that IHAAZ competition has prepared them for the rigors of the college game. This season, Riley D’Antonio (Prescott…

Eight champions crowned as IHAAZ starts 2023 season with exciting Tucson event

January 26th, 2023

The 2023 IHAAZ season began in earnest over the Jan. 20-22 weekend in Tucson for the first tournament of the season. Eight champions were crowned at the Tucson Indoor Sports Center as the Arizona Outlaws Black won at 8U, Arizona Jr. Wildcats at 10U, the Arizona Outlaws at 12U Gold, Prescott Roughriders at 12U Silver,…

WCRHL rolls out first semester of 2022-23 season with pleasant surprises

January 2nd, 2023

The Western Collegiate Roller Hockey League (WCRHL) has logged its first semester and, while the league is somewhat streamlined with a drop to 12 active teams, the early stages of the 2022-23 campaign has produced its share of surprises, particularly at the Division 1 level. “With three games played against Grand Canyon University, I don’t…

IHAAZ making changes for more parity, starting with 2023 season

November 7th, 2022

On the heels of a wildly successful 2022 season, IHAAZ is implementing several changes for the 2023 season. The tweaks are aimed to improve parity throughout all divisions, with minor rule changes and procedures at the top of the list. Most roller hockey tournaments have an eight-goal mercy rule, meaning once a team scores the…

WCRHL teams gearing up for 2022-23 season after successful 2022 nationals event

August 22nd, 2022

The National Collegiate Roller Hockey Championships took place April 6-10 in Kalamazoo, Mich., with all five divisions represented. It was a full return to the playing court since the 2019 championship tournament, and much of the same is anticipated for the upcoming 2022-23 season. “The 2022 National Collegiate Roller Hockey Championships saw us get back…

IHAAZ wraps 2022 campaign with eight teams winning titles at State Finals event

June 16th, 2022

The 2022 IHAAZ season culminated the weekend of June 10-12 with the annual State Finals event. This year’s tournament was held at the new Wheelhouse Sports Complex in Prescott Valley. Eight champions were crowned as the tournament proved to be the ultimate conclusion to a season that was the most competitive in years. “This was…

Free Website Hit Counter
Free website hit counter